I have studied functions, pointers, recursive(I suck at it though), file handling(slightly), loops and a bit of data structures. My final project of my semester is due very soon. I chose othello. Before I was able to succesfully make hangman. Now, this is my first time that I am trying a two player game. I would at least like to make human vs. human game in due time.

have been able to make the board of the game using char and I shall identity the positions of every block in the board by the row and coloumn number of the board which the user shall enter for that board 2D array. My question is, how do I get started with the player moves? A little push in the right direction would be very nice.

Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Ask for input
Accept input
Figure out what block the input signifies.

There is this thing I donot understand. Do I have to manually ask for input everytime? from the player 1 and player 2? I can not seem to grasp how I should keep a check on the board because I will have to stop asking for input when the board is full and no valid moves are left. I have to see if the players are making a valid move or not everytime they input a move.

Things are jumbling up. Sad face.

I assume this is a console program, not a graphical program, correct? It seems like you would have to ask for input every time. There is a white player and a black player. You ask the white player where he wants to place the white disk, then you place it there and you figure out what black chips need to reverse to white. Same thing for the black player. Redraw the board after you've figured that out.

As to your other questions, yes to all. You need to, at minimum, do all of the following before asking for a move.

1. Make sure there is at least one legal move that can be made.
  2. Make sure the game is not over yet.

Once the user types in a move, you have to...

1. Parse the user input into coordinates you can use.