Hi,

I want to find all the words(scabble words) that can be made out of given set of letters.
ex: abnana

results: a aa ab an baa ban banana na nab

How could i achieve this? Do i need a binary tree?
Plz some one help me...

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

This seems more like a job for a frequency list. You can use a dictionary of characters and counts like so:

for each word in the dictionary
    build a frequency list of each character initialized to 0

for each character in the letter collection
        if the character exists in the frequency list
            increment the count for that character

if all counts in the frequency list are greater than 0
        mark the word as a match

I think the question is actually "how do I generate permutations?"

"nab" isn't a permutation of "abnana". Permutations can get you closer to a complete solution, but that's not all there is to it.

Im a student so Im not expert in java.But not even too much low.
I dont understand the frequency list.
If u could please explain the psuedo code a bit?

I dont understand the frequency list.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Letter_frequencies.

If u could please explain the psuedo code a bit?

You're basically just matching at least one of every letter in a given word using the available tiles that the player currently has. All of the words that meet this requirement are words that the player can make with his or her tiles.

Probably the easiest way is to put all the words in a TreeMap (for fast searching) then check every permutation of every subset of your letters to see if it's in the TreeSet. However that will generate a lot of searches if you have a lot of letters, which may or may not make it too slow.