Hi Daniweb community. This is my first post. I'm new to this programming lark and I've hit a snag with an exercise I'm attempting.

EXERCISE
Write a program that asks the user to type an integer N and compute u(N) defined with :
u(0)=3
u(n+1)=3*u(n)+4

My Attempt:

// Iteration

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int u[]={}, N, i;
    cout << "Choose an integer N: " << endl;
    cin >> N;
    u[0]=3;
    for (i=0;i<=N;i++)
    {
        u[i+1]=(3*u[i])+4;
    }
    cout << "u(N) is given by: " << u[i] << endl;
    return 0;
}

The problem I'm having is that it is performing the iteration as though the initial value is 0. How could I set it to 3?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

int u[]={}

You need to give your array a size. I'm surprised there wasn't an error from this definition.

Thanks Deceptikon,

This works now.

// Iteration

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int N, i;
    cout << "Choose an integer N: " << endl;
    cin >> N;
    int u[N];
    u[0]=3;
    for (i=0;i<=N;i++)
    {
        u[i+1]=(3*u[i])+4;
    }
    cout << "u(N) is given by: " << u[N] << endl;
    return 0;
}

Tinnin the code you posted actually works? As far as I know with how c++ works line 11 should be an error. You shouldnt be able to create any array on the stack without knowing the size at compile time. What compiler are you using?

I'm using MINGW. The code works fine. No errors.

That's a compiler extension for gcc that allows non-constant array sizes, it's not a standard feature.

Which means if you added the switchs -Wall -pedantic to your compiler command you code would not compile (try and see)

• -Wall - output all warnings and errors (actually not quite all a few esoteric ones still need to be explicitly enabled if you want them)
  • -pedantic - pendantically follow the C++ (or C) standard and do not use any extentions.

Have a look from lines 13 to 16, you're writing beyond the bounds of the allocated array.