I'm new to creating jar files. I'm using JCreator and have set up the jar creation and the manifest using winrar and txt to get it to run. However if I run the .jar from anywhere other than the programs root directory all the images vanish. I have been looking at other peoples solutions but none of them are using Images for their graphics and all of mine are loaded with Image.

Image virImage,Background;
//above line is declaration of Image type variables
//the line below is in the constructor loading the image into the variable.
Background = Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit().getImage("images/MapForGame.jpg");

Is it possible or are Image variables unable to be used in jar files? I'd like to avoid converting everything into ImageIcons if I can since I haven't worked with them and it seems like it would be a difficult conversion at this point in the program since I'm using several 100 images.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

The posted code looks in a folder relative to the current directory for the image files it is trying to read.
Can you put the images inside of the jar file?
If so, you could treat the image file as a resource and use the ClassLoader's getResourceAsStream() method to get to the image file. See the ImageIO class for a method to use to read the image.

getResourceAsStream()

I do have the Images in the folder inside the .jar file. I'm sorry but I don't understand how I can use getResourceAsStream() here. Can you show me a code example on how I would set this up for an image file?

try to create jar file including the image folder

I'm sorry I wasn't clear on my last post but when creating the jar file the image folder was included. But for some reason it isn't looking for the images inside the jar file it's trying to find the image folder in the folder the jar file is in.