i hope someone here can help me with this quistion...
Finding Tandem Repeats: Suppose that we want to find all short tied repeats w within a string A = xwwy, |w| < 8. This type of repeat is called a tandem repeat and it occurs very often in biological sequences. Propose an algorithm, evaluate its efficiency, and write code.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

DaniWeb Member Rules include:
"Do provide evidence of having done some work yourself if posting questions from school or work assignments"
http://www.daniweb.com/community/rules

Have you tried Google or Bing?

You could put each charactor of the string into separate inidex's of an array. Then you could loop through the array, storing the current and the previous array index value in separate variables to compare.

It's hard to explain and probably not the best way to do it but this is how i would do it in C# you should be able to do the same in Java quite easily (i'm not too good at Java):

static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            // Asks for input from user
            Console.WriteLine("Please enter a sting");
            // Reads, stores and duplicates input
            char[] copy1 = Console.ReadLine().ToCharArray();
            char[] copy2 = copy1;

// Loops through for each array index (each charactor of the input
            for (int i = 0; i < copy1.Length; i++)
            {
                // Check that arrayin length is not exceeded if 1 is added to the value of i when access array index of copy 2
                if ((i + 1) < copy1.Length)
                {
                    // The increment is done at index
                    if (copy1[i] == copy2[i + 1])
                    {
                        Console.WriteLine("The two charactors were the same");
                        Console.ReadLine();
                        break;
                    }
                }
                else
                {