Hi i was hoping someone could help me as im new to programming.

Basically i have a form containing 6 combo boxes which have different options to select from the the drop down. Basically each of the options in each box are worth a different number of points eg one combo box asks for thier age and if there <21 thats 3 points and if there >35 thats 2 points. I need to do a code so these are added up when the user selects the options so when they press the button at the end it automatically calculates the number of points and either takes them to the next form if they are accepted ( <14 ) or brings up a message box informing them they are rejected if > 14. if anyone could help i would really appricate it.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

The following code requires three combo boxes. Each contains the integers from one to five. the button btnNext will stay disabled until the sum of all three combo boxes is ten or greater. You coold always modify the AddCombo routine, perhaps, to display a string in the textbox something like:

you are still ## points short

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Form1_Load(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        btnNext.Enabled = False
    End Sub

Private Function AddCombo() As Integer

Dim sum As Integer = 0

For Each cbx As ComboBox In Me.Controls.OfType(Of ComboBox)()
            If cbx.SelectedIndex >= 0 Then
                sum += CInt(cbx.Text)
            End If
        Next

btnNext.Enabled = sum >= 10

Return sum

End Function

Private Sub ComboBox1_SelectedValueChanged(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles ComboBox1.SelectedValueChanged
        TextBox1.Text = AddCombo()
    End Sub

Private Sub ComboBox2_SelectedIndexChanged(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles ComboBox2.SelectedIndexChanged
    End Sub

Private Sub ComboBox3_SelectedIndexChanged(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles ComboBox3.SelectedIndexChanged
    End Sub

End Class