This thread also has some good project ideas (especially for final-year projects)

I love the initiaion here and i am anxiously waiting for the simple vending machine tutorial. I am one of those guys who were in a class where the lecturer started by Java can do everything but i am yet to accomplish something ...

As a rookie coder, I'd like to contribute to the list:

1. Rock/Paper/Scissors
  2. The Game of Life (by John Conway)
  3. Project Euler (google it)
commented: Good suggestions, thanks +14

How about a calculator (scientific to challenge yourself and convert into an app)

How about a pacman game or some type of game that is popular on the app stores.

I got some ideas too...

Web Bot: Create a web bot that crawls the web by jumping across hyperlinks and creates a list(not necessarily detailed) of pages found and indexes them in a database. You can keep adding new features to make the program better and better. I believe this will give adequate practice as far as networkig concepts and database concepts are concerned.

Make a program to convert from decimal to binary format, or hexadecimal to decimal format, or vice versa, and experiment with different methods; then determine which one is the best...

Come to think of it, though, why not have a look at Martyr2's Mega Project List (something like 150+ ideas, most of which can be implemented in Java): http://www.dreamincode.net/forums/topic/78802-martyr2s-mega-project-ideas-list/

I've found that the best way to learn is to compete with friends who're also learning.
Who uses more advanced stuff?
Who codes faster?
Who's code is faster?

somewhat new to programming myself, would be appropriate to upload my code some where for people to make comments and suggestions?

@j.t.casperson, you can upload your code in the forums so we can help you fix them and evaluate them :)

Hey which is the best book for the learners to learn java...
Will you give me suggestion for choosing the right book to learn java...