Can anyone HELP me for my problem .. Im a newbie in python ! I want to create a script to rename files in a dir. that dir has 400 files .png .. startswith 001.png , 002.png to 400.png ! I want to rename them startswith 000.png to 399.png .. Please Help!!

Read the documentation of os module to find suitable command and use a loop and string formatting to do zero padded number:

print('%03i.txt' % 5)

Output:

005.txt

If you're using linux, this may be handled more simply with a bash script.

It`s simpel with python to,and this is a python forum.
@crishein14 save script in folder with files and run.

import os, glob

for numb,name in enumerate(glob.glob('*png')):
    os.rename(name, '{num:03d}.png'.format(num=numb))
commented: easy +10

Meister snippsat's solution is easy, but be careful, it will rename any .png file in the directory. You might want to make sure that the name starts with an integer at least.

im only using pys60 .. Symbian ! Python says no module named glob :(

Try.

import os

for numb,name in enumerate(os.listdir(".")):
    if name.endswith(".png"):
        os.rename(name, '{num:03d}.png'.format(num=numb))

Or.
http://people.csail.mit.edu/kapu/symbian/python_old.html

glob, fnmatch
Standard Python modules that are not part of PyS60 distribution, with slight modifications
so they work with PyS60.
Glob allows directory listing with wild cards, fnmatch is used by glob. Used by sync, btconsole.

I think pyS60 use python 2.5.4,then you have to use old string formatting like this.
You should of course mention in first post that you use pyS60.

import os

for numb,name in enumerate(os.listdir(".")):
    if name.endswith(".png"):
        os.rename(name, '%03i.png' % numb)

thankyou so much for all of you .. im noob in python ! i want to learn more in python .. sorry for my bad english :)

i try to run the code above .. python say's
for numb,name in enumerate(os.listdir("e:Py")):
NameError: name 'enumerate' is not defined

Implement it yourself