Hello everyone!

I've been having some troubles recently trying to work with frame independent movement (based on 300 pixels per second) and having the object collide with another. I'm still pretty new to this idea, but I don't know how I should go about having the character move back from the object if the object is moving based on time. If you could help me out here I'd really appreciate it! Thanks!

You would probably be better off using an off-the-shelf library for that, like the Open Dynamics Engine (ODE). It's a simple but pretty solid engine for doing computer game physics realism (not for real simulations, of course). The basic idea with this is that you control your objects (characters, vehicles, projectiles, etc.) by specifying initial velocities and applying force to them (e.g., steering, thrust, etc.). Then, the physics engine takes care of the rest (realizing the motion). ODE has simple collision detection routines too, like primitive to primitive collisions (box-box, box-sphere, etc.). I don't think that it does 2D physics though, if that is what you need.