I've been studying C++ for two years, then started Java two months ago. My performance in C++ wasn't good at all although I study hard. I thought that the problem is in not understanding the language concepts but when I started a new language with the intention of building up the concepts from scratsh, I discovered the REAL problem.

The problem isn't with knowing the syntax or understanding the language. My problem is when I'm faced with a program to solve, first, I don't know from where to start & how to think in solving it.

That's a HUGE problem...
Any suggestions for books to read, what to learn to help me think correctly when designing programs.

Thanks in advance :)

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

All true. Look for a java book that emphasises problem solving.

The ability to programmatically think and to find a solution to a problem are not the same. You can find a solution using different aproach which is not by programming. In programming, you may need to apply maths to solve a problem; however, many problems do not require maths in order to find a solution.

For example, you are living in a town, and you want to go from your house to your school. There are multiple roads/routes that can get to your school and they all are within walking distance. How do you find a route to get to school? You could ask someone to show you how to get there. You could ask your parents to drive you there for a few times. You could use a map to find a route. You could randomly walk around your house and the area until you stumble on your school. Do you see the point?

Teaching one to think programmatically is not easy. Human brain is very mysterious. Showing one how to do it is easier. A picture is worth more than a thousand words.