Hi all – I am a project manager with no real development experience.

As part of a project I am working on I need to develop a web based SMS texting application with added functionality as follows:

1: The system has basic web textout functionality so that lists of mobile numbers can be uploaded in CSV format and SMS messages can be sent to these lists in bulk. Likewise the system should allow text messages to be received and viewed from the web interface.

2: Management can add certain mobile phone numbers to a “VALIDATED” list which then in turn the user of this mobile phone number can send a message to a long number which is connected to the system and interact with the system as in next points.

3: VALIDATED phone number users can send a text message to the longnumber that is connected to the system. They text “ONLIST 5” (Where “ONLIST” means add the user to the ONLIST list and where “5” means duration of 5 hours). They receive a confirmation message when successfully added to the ONLIST.

4: Then they can then text “OFFLIST” to be removed from that list.

5: If the user does not text “OFFLIST” within the specified time frame of 5HRS they are sent a warning message after fifth hour has been reached, also a warning message is sent to a collection of other mobile phone numbers which are on a separate “NOTIFY” list.

6: I am using the time duration of 5 hours as an example but in practice any time could be inputted by the user so 48 would equal 48 hours or 15 would equal 15 hours etc.

We have multiple locations so this would need to be replicated several times (using different dedicated long numbers for each location)

Can someone explain the components rqd & steps involved in creating something like this?
I’m not sure what an SMS gateway is etc, how much development time will have to go into something like this and what equipment I will need to make this happen so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Martin

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies