Hi,
I want to output chess symbols from unicode to console in c++, please tell me how to do that.
Im using Dev c++, windows8 and console.
Im just a beginner so please keep it simple for me (also tell me the libraries to include please)

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Im just a beginner so please keep it simple for me

The problem is that it's not simple. You can tell C++ to write Unicode characters until you're blue in the face, but if the console isn't set up to support Unicode or using a font that supports those characters, you won't get the correct output. It's more of a limitation of the command prompt than C++.

I'd suggest using Google, but this page is a good starting point as well. Note that cout/wcout correspond roughly to printf/wprintf.

I've been searching for days, and everyone keeps telling to change font to Lucida Console Unicode, use wide characters and output using wcout.
But the thing is:
1.How to change font to Lucida Console Unicode?

2.If i try to just copy/paste the character (like ♔) in Dev C++, there appears '?' instead of '♔'

3.There must be a function for UNICODE like char(x) is for ASCII

How to change font to Lucida Console Unicode?

Right click on the console window and choose Properties. From there you can change the font.

If i try to just copy/paste the character (like ♔) in Dev C++, there appears '?' instead of '♔'

Yes, that's what happens when the output medium (the text editor in this case) doesn't support Unicode or uses a font that doesn't support the character.

There must be a function for UNICODE like char(x) is for ASCII

Yes, it's called a wide character or string:

L'<character goes here>'
L"<string goes here>"

But that has exactly nothing to do with your problem, which is configuring the output device to handle Unicode. Did you read the link I gave you?

Thankyou for replying