Hello Everyone!

I am a beginner user of Python without IT background (I am interested in IT developing my knowledge step by step). So far I did simple scripts in Python and I encountered a problem. I was looking on Google, however I didn't find the satisfactory answers which would help me - Therfore, I decided to write here.

I'm struggling to identify duplicates in CSV file. My CSV file contains contacts from the database. Every column corresponds to particular data (name, surname, job title, company, email, contact ID etc.). In this database there are duplicates and I want to read through this database and identify duplicated emails. If script finds the duplicated email, then it writes email address, contact ID to a separate file - creating new file which will consist of duplicates only. Does anyone could help me with this task? I would much appreciate your help.

Regards,
mgunia

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

You should use a dictionary to store the e-mails in a dictionary if it is not already there. If it is there, then it is a duplicate. I would suggest that you store the original record and the duplicate because they may be different and you would want to keep the correct one, not the first one found.

this is not a problem because spotted duplicates will be marked as "email duplicate" in the database and accordingly skipped. So no information would be missed. The problem for me is to operate the dictionary. I don't know how I should write the script which says "if email duplicate add to the file - and add only contact ID and email address".

When you identify a duplicate, let's say there are 2, do both get written to the file or just the one that wasn't first?