hi i am really new to this and can't see why i can't get my code to work, it is probily really silly but help would be appreciated.
i am trying to get the user to enter the number of competators of a 4 lap race so that it can determine the lap size then read in the lap times of each competator.

# include <stdio.h>
# include <malloc.h>

/* define the structure , what you want the user to input*/
    struct laptimes {
        float lap1;
        float lap2;
        float lap3;
        float lap4;
    };

int main (){
        int comp ;
        int n;
        printf("Enter number of competators \n");
        scanf("%d",&n);
        comp = calloc (n,sizeof (int));

/* allocating the pointer to the memory space*/
    int p;
    struct laptimes * ptr = &p;

p = malloc (sizeof(int));

/* asking the user to input lap times. Scan in the user input then print it back out to the user*/
    printf("Enter  lap times \n ");
    scanf("%f%f%f%f",(*ptr).lap1,(*ptr).lap2,(*ptr).lap3,(*ptr).lap4);
    printf("%f%f%f%f",(*ptr).lap1,(*ptr).lap2,(*ptr).lap3,(*ptr).lap4);

free();
    return 0 ; 
}

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

free has to be called with the pointer you wish to free so the syntax at line 30 is wrong.

comp is never used you can remove lines 13 and 17 without affecting your program.

line2 20, 21 and 23 really make no sense. What you want to do is allocate an array of struct laptimes to hold you results. What you do is point you laptimes pointer ptr to the address of an integer, then you allocate memory and assign it's address to the integer.

line 21 ptr = address of p
line 23 p = address of memory block that is the size of an int.

replace lines 20 - 23 with

struct laptimes * ptr = malloc(n * sizeof(*ptr));

replace line 30 with

free(ptr);