Member Avatar for VikashS_

Greetings everyone,

I am just starting out with C and I am stuck with a question in my book. It says the following:

x=1;  
y=1;
if(n>0)
      x=x+1;
      y=y-1;
      printf("%d%d"x,y);

What will be the values of x and y if n assumes a value of a) 1 and b) 0.

Now when I run the program assuming n has a value of 1 then the output is x=2 and y=0 and when n is 0 then x=1 and y=0 (This is strange for me). Now when I run the same program using if else statement then I get X=2 Y=0 (Considering N is 1 here as well) and X=1 and Y=1 when N is 0 (This is what I agree with as well).

I am certain that either I do not have a clear concept here or maybe I am missing out on something. Any help is appreciated and Thanks in advance. Cheers !!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

The way the code is currently written, only the first expression after if (n > 0) will be evaluated, provided that n is indeed greater than zero.
Rewriting the code using braces it would be equivalent to:

x=1;  
y=1;

if (n > 0)
{
    x = x + 1; // only this can possibly be evaluated
}

y = y - 1;

printf("%d %d", x, y);

If you want both expressions x = x + 1 and y = y - 1 to be evaluated, then they both need to be enclosed between braces:

if (n > 0)
{
    x = x + 1;
    y = y - 1;
}

nullptr - Your response is appreciated. Now, you've explained that only the x should be evaluated because of the way the code is written, but the compiler is not working that way and instead when n is set to 1 it's evaluating both x(becomes 2) and y(becomes 0) and when n is 0 it evaluates only y(which becomes 0) and x (remains 1). Would await your response on this one. Thanks.

In your code, y is evaluated regardless of the value of n.

x=1;  
y=1;

if ( n > 0)
    x = x + 1; // this line will only be evaluated if (n > 0)

y = y - 1;    // this line will always be evaluated regardless of the value of n

Hopefully the comments I've included above will clarify things.