Hi all...
I've been asked to write a password generator in C for a project.

the guidelines are very vague and all I've been told is:

Password must be 9-15 characters long
at least 2 numbers
2 upper/2 lower case latters
1 symbol
and I need to write a dictionary file.

I really don't know where to start as I am very new to C.
Does anyone have any tips...or similar codes I can use as a guideline or to get ideas from?

Thank you :)

Recommended Answers

All 35 Replies

First, you need to use rand() (click me) to generate random characters that can be used in passwords. Do this in a loop. Each time rand() is called check it's return value to find out what kind of character it returned (upper case, lower case, digit, or some other symbol)

If you look at any ascii table, such as this one you will see that all printable characters and symbols have decimal values between 33 and 126 (the space (decimal 32) is also considered printable but not useful for your program). So in order to generate a value between 33 and 126 the math is like this:

int ch = 33 + (rand() % 126)

Now, each time a value is generated search the array of password characters already generated to see if the new value is already in the array. If it is not in the array then add it. If the character is already in the array then ignore it and continue the loop to generate another random character. Since we don't know how many times this loop will repeat itself its best to use a while loop then break out only after the required number of characters have been validated.

Don't attempt to write all that code at one time, you will most likely just get confused if you do. Write a few lines, then compile and test that it works correctly. After that repeat until the program is done.

Thanks alot for the tips!
Hopefully I'll get it done fine without too much hastle.