guys,i am just a java newbie and i am really interested in studying this.i am currently using java development kit 5 and i am working on the exercises in sam java 24 hours.http://www.samspublishing.com/library/content.asp?b=STY_Java2_24hours&seqNum=29i cant get to compile Saluton.javabecause when i am trying to typejavac Saluton.java in the ms-dos commandlineits giving me 'javac' is not recognized.....how can i solve this one?also, where can i find online tutorials for dummies like me in java?hope you could help me with this.your help will be very much appreciated.thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

My advice would be to download something like netbeans, so you can can type your program in the editor and then press a nice shiny button to get it to compile and run. It's fool proof.

Using an IDE will never teach him to install and configure his environment properly.
It's a workaround rather than a solution.

Download the JDK from http://java.sun.com and READ and follow the installation and configuration instructions.
They're quite good, the only reasonably intelligent people who have trouble are those who don't follow them.

>Download the JDK from http://java.sun.com and READ and follow the installation and configuration instructions.

Ah but you see that is based on the assumption reasonably intelligent people take up programming. We all know that's a lie.

Go with netbeans, and worry about the command line stuff later. Nice shiny buttons...one click away...you can't go wrong.

So you're assuming the OP isn't reasonably intelligent yet can make a decent contribution to the industry if only he uses netbeans...