I am a student doing a research project at NIST, and as part of my project I have to run a series of simulations. My problem is this: I inherited the C code for the simulations from a previous student researcher who wrote it using Microsoft Visual C++ on a Linux operating system, and I am using Borland C++ BuilderX on an XP operating system. The code compiled and ran (after some minor changes, none of which are related to my current problem), but one variable (the one monitered to determine when to stop iterating through the simulation) is jumping all over the place, instead of the expected steady decrease. The program makes use of some very large arrays (some of which contain 27 million elements) and outputs two 80M text files, in case that might be a factor. Can you give me any tips about what the problem might be? (unfortunately, I am probably not allowed to post the code-government property and all that.)

Again, I made very few changes to the code (just some status output statements and a fix to the file reading)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

wrote it using Microsoft Visual C++ on a Linux operating system,

Is this actually possible? MSVC runs on Linux? :eek:

but one variable (the one monitered to determine when to stop iterating through the simulation) is jumping all over the place, instead of the expected steady decrease.The program makes use of some very large arrays (some of which contain 27 million elements)

27 million = 27000000
What is the data type used for this variable? Maybe it can't hold 27000000. Most probably it starts back from 0 after being assigned it's maximum possible value.

Is this actually possible? MSVC runs on Linux? :eek:

27 million = 27000000
What is the data type used for this variable? Maybe it can't hold 27000000. Most probably it starts back from 0 after being assigned it's maximum possible value.

I gather that my predecessor
1. Was really good with computers and
2. Used a pirated version of Visual C++.