im new to C++.... sorta. i tried to use it a while ago but i couldn't figure out how to do anything and so now im going to try it again. if anyone could be of assistance that would be awsome. oh yeah, and im pretty much broke so i cant pay for anything:mrgreen: .

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If you have windows go here;

http://www.bloodshed.net/index.html

It's a free C and C++ IDE and compiler (it's the windows port of Linux's GCC or something like that). Install it then do this tutorial:

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/introduction.html

get this book or similar:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0672326817/026-5503996-0395655?v=glance&n=266239

and im pretty much broke so i cant pay for anything

beg, borrow, go to the library do whatever to get a book, invest in your future or this will be a *permanent* disposition.

thank you... i have found this tutorial useful and of course the free compiler helps

Sorry, but I wouldn't buy that book. My experience with the "in 24 hour" books is that they don't really contain information you wouldn't get if you read some tutorials.

A better idea is to invest in Microsoft Visual Studio, so you can use the software everyone uses and is familiar with. It also contains other programs, for example visual basic which is a pretty fun language.

Unfortunately Visual Studio is pretty expensive, so you could just stick with bloodshed dev-cpp or Borland (is that compiler free? I dunno).

Goodluck learning C++

Greetz, Eddy

A better idea is to invest in Microsoft Visual Studio, so you can use the software everyone uses and is familiar with. It also contains other programs, for example visual basic which is a pretty fun language.

I disagree. First, everyone doesn't use it. Second, DevC at least follows the C/C++ standards. VS-C++ only somewhat follows the standards.

Unfortunately Visual Studio is pretty expensive, so you could just stick with bloodshed dev-cpp or Borland (is that compiler free? I dunno).