Hello everyone, I am new to Java programming as well as to these most excellent forums and I have a problem with some sample code from a book that is teaching me Java. The code is supposed to demonstrate packages, access control, interfaces, and encapsulation. My problem is that when I try to compile one of the files I get the following errors:

Storefront.java:14: cannot find symbol
symbol  : class Item
        public Item getItem(int i) {
               ^
Storefront.java:10: cannot find symbol
                Item it = new Item(id, name, price, quant);
                ^
Storefront.java:10: cannot find symbol
                Item it = new Item(id, name, price, quant);
                              ^
Storefront.java:15: cannot find symbol
                return (Item)catalog.get(i);
                        ^
Note: Storefront.java uses unchecked or unsafe operations.
Note: Recompile with -Xlint:unchecked for details.

The Item class is in a different file in the same folder and part of the same package and is declared public so I'm not sure why the compiler won't recognize it when I try to compile this other file. Any help you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated...oh, and I apologize in advance if this error is covered in a different thread, I couldn't find it if it was.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

yup, cliche.
Both the question and the (rather obvious) answer have been posted too many times to count and as usual the person asking the question can't be bothered to do his own research towards finding that answer.