Hi guys...Im new here and just registered a few minutes ago. I am a sophmore in high school and this is my first year of java. I have a program that I have to do for homework and I don't even know where to start. We have just begun learning about arrays and the project is to create a program in which the user enters a number and then enters another number in which the computer tells you if the second number is located inside the first number. Example...56,792 4, the computer would return a "No, that number is not located in 56,792. I know this might be simple but I am just looking for a little start/algorithm. That would be very helpful. Thanks a bunch.

Kevin

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First start out with a simple skeleton code:

class Main
{
  public static void main(String [] args)
  {

}
}

Now, let's think about what we need to do.

We probably should prompt the user to enter the numbers (even though you know it takes 2 numbers, prompts make it look nicer). You can do this with a few lines of System.out.print("some text"); (you can also use println if you want a newline at the end).

We also need to get the user's input. Assuming you're using Java 1.5, this is pretty easy. You'll probably want to use the java.util.Scanner class and it's nextInt() method.

Then comes the tough part: checking if the second number is in the first. I'd do it by making two strings out of the inputted numbers (using Integer.toString(/* int variable here */) ) and then using something like firstNumber.indexOf(secondNumber) .

I recommend reading and getting used to the Java API. You can find each of the classes and methods I mentioned in there to make sure you know how to use them. Good luck with your assignment ;)

Hmm...Thank you for the great response. My teacher said I should use a "Do...While" Loop. Still the same idea?

You could use a do-while loop. I can make two separate assumptions on how the program should work if you use that.