I am trying to seperate the code below into one sub routine and one function. Specifically a boolean function that does the number check. I am still learning how to use sub procedures and functions and am not sure where to do the seperation. Any advice would be helpful. I've tried and when I break it up, the functionality goes crazy.

If IsNumeric(txtLower.Text) And IsNumeric(txtUpper.Text) Then
If CInt(txtLower.Text) < CInt(txtUpper.Text) Then

Dim intLower As Integer ' lower bound input
Dim intUpper As Integer ' upper bound input
Dim intNumber As Integer ' used to check for prime
Dim intPrimeCounter As Integer ' counter

intLower = txtLower.Text
intUpper = txtUpper.Text

Do While intLower <= intUpper
intNumber = 2
intPrimeCounter = 0
Do While intNumber < intLower
If (intLower Mod intNumber) = 0 Then
intPrimeCounter += 1
End If
intNumber += 1
Loop

If intPrimeCounter = 0 Then
txtResults.AppendText(intLower & Environment.NewLine)
End If
intLower += 1
Loop

Else
MsgBox("Upper Bound Must be Greater than Lower Bound ")
End If

Else
MessageBox.Show(Text:="Enter a Positive Numeric Value", _
caption:="Input error - Prime Numbers")

End If

End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

It's hard to tell what code you want to move to a Function. A couple of things to consider:

If you pass objects to a method BYVAL, you are passing a COPY of the object (i.e. your integer). If you pass an object to a method BYREF you are NOT passing a value, you are passing a pointer to the original variable (and can generally update it from your subroutine). Here's an example:

' This is a simple, byval function.  We'll call it in the mySub method.
private function AddOne(BYVAL AnInteger as INTEGER) as INTEGER
 dim intPlusOne as INTEGER
 intPlusOne = AnInteger + 1
 return intPlusOne
end function

' This is a BYREF function.
private SUB AddOneByRef(BYREF AnInteger as INTEGER) 
 AnInteger = AnInteger + 1
end sub

' Now we call the methods above.
private sub mySub()

' intX starts out as a 5