Hi guys i am pretty new to XML. Well I have transform a xml file in format A(let's say) to format B. By surfing the websites, I found that XLST can do this.But these 2 formats dun not neccesarily have easy transforms like tag-to-tag. They can be transformed from tag-to-tag,tag-to-attribute etc.. So in this case is XLST should still be able to achieve the needs or should I have to resort to SAX or DOM.And again which is better.. Thanks in advance.. :)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

XSLT is the tool for the job, you just need to write an XSLT stylesheet to perform the transformation you want, and away you go.

How you write that XSLT is the tricky part, books have been written about it. It's a complex programming language in its own right.

XSLT processors generally use SAX and DOM as the core parser and RAM organisation method respectively.

SAX is a very low-level XML-to-event-chain parser, and DOM is just a list of interconnected nodes.

XSLT is a definition language that can sit on top of that, controlling the process of turning an input DOM into an output DOM.

Anything you write in XSLT could be implemented using SAX and DOM, but a single-input-file-to-single-output-file transformation (or even a multi-input-file-to-single-output-file transformation) is a relatively simple XSLT process whatever the rules for it are, and you should use XSLT.

<xsl:apply-templates> and mode will be your best friends =P

I'd advise learning the XPath rules for node selection (http://www.w3.org/TR/xpath)

and getting yourself a good XSL processor (http://xalan.apache.org/)

Anything you write in XSLT could be implemented using SAX and DOM,

but why reinvent the wheel (as you'd effectively be making something similar to XSLT if you wanted any flexibility)...

XSLT is relatively easy to learn (though hard to master), reasonably fast (if you know what you're doing), and extremely flexible.

hi guys, sorry for the late reply..Was away for a few days.