Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to connect a C++ program to a MySQL database on Linux Fedroa Core 5 os. It would be great if I could create a program in C++ that allows me to create a completely new database in MySQL, edit, modify, delete and update records and tables within it. But can't find much help on the net. Can any one please lend me some of the necessary knowledge. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Something like this ?

Something like this ?

Hi,

Thanks a lot for the reply, it seems that there is a need to download the C++ API for MySQL in order to make a connection between the two, but what actaully I am after is a simple piece of code that demonstrates the connection between C++ and MySQL. I would also like to have the basic guidelines on how to install the C++ API from the url you have kindly given to me. I would also go on trying to do it on my own, but there is a strong possibility of a failure underlying the fact that I am quite new to Linux and C++ both. More help would be sincerely appreciated. Cheers.

Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to connect a C++ program to a MySQL database on Linux Fedroa Core 5 os. It would be great if I could create a program in C++ that allows me to create a completely new database in MySQL, edit, modify, delete and update records and tables within it. But can't find much help on the net. Can any one please lend me some of the necessary knowledge. Thanks.

hi,
I have done a similar application in windows platform.
there i have used an ODBC Driver to connect,even u can connect Mysql server directly.
u create databases,execute queries also.
bye,
sree

hi,
I have done a similar application in windows platform.
there i have used an ODBC Driver to connect,even u can connect Mysql server directly.
u create databases,execute queries also.
bye,
sree