hello.

thanks to all of you for taking time to answer questions.

i just started learning c++ and i'm confused as to how graphics are added to a program.

does c++ have graphical capabilities on it's own or does it need another program like Direct-x?

the graphics i make are tiles,32x32 BMP or Jpeg.

can i get an example of how to place one in a program, or , further information.

thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

hello.

thanks to all of you for taking time to answer questions.

i just started learning c++ and i'm confused as to how graphics are added to a program.

does c++ have graphical capabilities on it's own or does it need another program like Direct-x?

the graphics i make are tiles,32x32 BMP or Jpeg.

can i get an example of how to place one in a program, or , further information.

thanks.

Sorry to dash any high hopes you have but graphics is something you will only be able to do after you have much more knowledge in C++.

Actually C++ has it's own way of showing graphics through the operating system but at a very low level by drawing pixel by pixel.Actually everyting on screen drawn that way.

Now it would be boring to do that,so people made funtions to draw lines,then to draw boxes ,then to display text,and progress on to draw windows and all the stuff you see.

Now DirectX is not a program.It is just a library which helps you to draw and C++ version of it is available.At you current level you wont even be able to set it up on you compiler,sorry you reaching for the moon.

Good news you can learn more C++ and then go on to graphic within no time if you advance well.I just started 4-5 five months ago in game programming but I have 3 games aready done.Just because I know C++ well.

You will have to learn about using the C++ data types,structures,classes,file i/o and should be able to use them well.