Hi..
im currently writing a program in python to parse a log file..
this log file is expected to be very big - (70MB - 250MB ) in size..
in the file there's this whole bunch lines of internet activity..
i supposed to parse each line and extract some information..

i dont want to read all lines in the file at once.. and im pretty sure there is a better way to do it...

is there any site or any guidelines in dealing with large text file..
could someone post a reasonable tutorial/efficient algorithm to parse a very big text file..

or if there is someone in here that have already had this experience of dealing with a files like this, some tips/tricks would be very appreciated..

i really am a newbie in python...thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I am a newbie at python as well and have never worked with a file of that size. Out of curiosity I would try the entire file first to see if Python and PC could handle it. If it can not then I would try file.read(N) to read in a certain number of bytes from the main file and then save that to a new file. Someone more experienced than myself will probably have a better solution...I am interested in finding out since some of the files I am working with are getting larger in size.

David

yeah, i wouldn't know for sure if i could read it all at once...even if i could i rather not to do it if there is a better way to do it[ coz the file will grow big - and i've been told not to read it all at once]. i just need someone to point out for sure the most efficient way handle things like this..unless reading the whole file at once is the most efficient way of doing it in python...

[im pretty sure there is a common practice of handling this type of problems - im not familiar with it and doesnt know the term for "big text parsing/processing"either [if there's any]. ]

really need some help so that some advice can put me in to the right direction

thanks for the advice though...