i have written my homework problem but get 7 errors in it. the errors seem to be comming from this line as well as others like it. any help would be greatly appreciated. this is my first year doing this and is somewhat confusing.

I need these lines to be on the screen when prompted.
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Federal Tax" >> right >> setw(14) >> federal >> endl;
state = (gross * .035);
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "State Tax" >> right >> setw(14) >> state >> endl;
ss = (gross * .0575);
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Social Security Tax" >> setw(14) >> ss >> endl;
med = (gross * .0275);
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Medicair/Medicaid Tax" >> setw(14) >> med >> endl;
pension = (gross * .05);
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Pension Plan" >> setw(14) >> pension >> endl;
health = 75.00;
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Health Insurance" >> setw(14) >> health >> endl;
net = (gross-(federal + state + ss + med + pension + health));
indata >> left >> setw(22) >> "Net Pay" >> setw(14) >> net >> endl;
the error message says this:

c:\program files\microsoft visual studio 8\vc\include\istream(441): or 'std::basic_istream<_Elem,_Traits> &std::basic_istream<_Elem,_Traits>::operator >>(std::basic_streambuf<_Elem,_Traits> *)'
with
[
_Elem=char,
_Traits=std::char_traits<char>
how do i go about fixing this. thanks

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

how is indata declared ? Is it a member of istream?

this is nwhat it looks like. i am not sure what you mean. thanks

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>
#include <fstream>

using namespace std;
string employeeFirst, employeeLast;
double gross;
double federal, state, ss, med, pension, health, net;

int main()
{

cout << "what is the Employees Name" << endl;
cin >> employeeFirst >> employeeLast;
cout << "What is the Employees Gross Pay" << endl;
cin >> gross;

cout << fixed << showpoint << setprecision (2);
cout << setfill ('.');

ifstream infile;
ofstream outfile;
indata.open ("PayrollTaxes");