Hi,

I am a newbie, can someone please clarify the difference between
"\0" and '\0' and 0 as far as C++ is concerned?? Why can't they be used inter-changeably ??

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

The first one is an empty string, the second one is a single character 0 identical to the third one.

To me, when doing C/C++:

0 would digit zero, that is, a numerical value.

'0' could be the character capital oh or the character zero. For example:
char word[10] = "Oxford";
char number[10] = "01234";

Depending on typeface used 'O' may look exactly like '0' making it difficult to tell them apart out of context.

'\0' is the null character used to terminate strings in C/C++.

"\0" is an empty string.

Thanks Lerner!!

To me, when doing C/C++:

0 would digit zero, that is, a numerical value.

'0' could be the character capital oh or the character zero. For example:
char word[10] = "Oxford";
char number[10] = "01234";

Depending on typeface used 'O' may look exactly like '0' making it difficult to tell them apart out of context.

"\0" is an empty string.

The first one is an empty string, the second one is a single character 0 identical to the third one.

Thanks Ancient Dragon!!

which is 0. Why? because the backlash '\' tells the compiler to interpret the next character litterally, it is one of the several escape characters in the c language.

I always hesitate a while before engaging someone more learned than I in (even polite) refutation but sometimes I can't help myself. Usually I learn something from the process of humiliation at least. So here goes.