Hi all

I am a noob to C++ and I was getting some source code off the web and this is the second time it has happened, when I compile (Blood Shed Dev) I get a message in the compiler "permission denied"
"Id returned 1 exit status"
Can anybody help me and tell me what is going wrong please?

Many thanks

HLA91

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Don't know about Bloodshed, but what is the code suppose to do? Could you show it? What OS are you using?

It isn't the code that's complaining, it is the linker (ld).
Most likely you are trying to write to a file that is read-only, or read or write a file that you don't have access rights to. Are you using linux?

True, the code runs fine with me (winxp home admin).
Did you ever have a simulair problem with code?

You could try changes the code one line at a time to check what the problem is?
for example change:

keybd_event((UCHAR)VkKeyScan(szMessage[nRand][i]), NULL, NULL, NULL);

in

printf("%s", szMessage[nRand][i]);

No, i use XP and here is the code I was trying to use http://www.planet-source-code.com/vb/scripts/ShowCodeAsText.asp?txtCodeId=10405&lngWId=3
Also I am the admin on my pc so I should be able to do whatever I like with the files shouldnt I?

Believe what you like. Your error message is ld returned 1 exit status which explicitly means your linker is failing for some (unspecified) reason.

Check to make sure the compiler is correctly configured to use the linker.

Also, admin doesn't mean you have unfettered access. Just privileges sufficient to override access restrictions. That said, my first, off-the-cuff diagnosis was probably premature.

I have run into other code that comes up with that error here is one example, this one though comes up with
"linker error undefined reference to mciSendStringA@16" as well as the "Id returned exit 1 status", also
How do I check to make sure the compiler is correctly configured to use the linker that Duoas mentioned?

Many thanks

HLA91