Hi i'm pretty new to the whole java thing with basic skills in the non graphical parts of java and some limited swing skills. There's this thing about threads that's sorta irritating me. I would like to know.....if this is possible....how i can run multiple threads in the same class environment, each of which does something different (ie. has its own run() method). I always implement Runnable because its easier for me so if anyone knows how to do this I would be most appreciative. I have a suspicion that you can't have more than one run() in a given class but if you can, that's what i'd like to do. Thanks :)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

as an edit to the above post, I am inquiring as to how to do something like the following:

Thread runner1 = new Thread(???)
Thread runner2 = new Thread(???)
Thread runner3 = new Thread(???)
runner1.start;
runner2.start;
runner3.start;

run() {
}

run() {
}

run() {
}

You can use anonymous inner classes. Hardcore Java book has good reasoning for when you should or should not use anonymous inner classes.

For more information about nested inner classes, read Ch 6 of Hardcore Java
http://www.onjava.com/pub/a/onjava/excerpt/HardcoreJava_chap06/index.html
http://www.onjava.com/pub/a/onjava/excerpt/HardcoreJava_chap06/index1.html
http://www.onjava.com/pub/a/onjava/excerpt/HardcoreJava_chap06/index2.html

public void init() {
   Thread r1 = (new Thread() {
      public void run() {
      }
   });
    Thread r2 = (new Thread() {
      public void run() {
      }
   });
   Thread r3 = (new Thread() {
      public void run() {
      }
   });
   r1.start(); r2.start(); r3.start();
}

Hope this helps!

Ed

Thanks for the reply....so what you're saying is that I must make sort of subclasses inside my main class in order to isolate the run methods for each thread?....are there any example of code that do this? (goes to check provided links)