Hello,
I don't know bandit_77, but I am also trying to write the exact program that he requested help on. I doubt I know as much as the original poster because I am very new to programming. So the answer to the "goldilocks" problem is, ""Woah, back up Einstein, I'm new at this" Although, unlike bandit, I am willing to give it a try.

I am having trouble coming up with a way to "test if it's above '9', and if it is reset it to '0' and add 1 to the next column. If a letter, test for 'Z'" as WaltP suggested.

Here is my first attempt. Be warned it's pretty ugly and my compiler just about had a heart attack after trying to compile it :$

#include <stdio.h>

main()

{
	char license_plate[6]; = "0123456789abcdef"
	int i;

for ( i = 0 ; i < 10 ; i++ ) {
  printf( "The next license Plate is=%06d\n", i );
}

while (?)

{
		printf("Please enter the license plate >");
	        scanf("%s", license_plate);

}
}

I know it is a mess. I'm pretty sure some things are out of place in there. I'm going to pick up a "C for dummies book" tomorrow. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hello,
I don't know bandit_77, but I am also trying to write the exact program that he requested help on. I doubt I know as much as the original poster because I am very new to programming. So the answer to the "goldilocks" problem is, ""Woah, back up Einstein, I'm new at this" Although, unlike bandit, I am willing to give it a try.

I am having trouble coming up with a way to "test if it's above '9', and if it is reset it to '0' and add 1 to the next column. If a letter, test for 'Z'" as WaltP suggested.

Here is my first attempt. Be warned it's pretty ugly and my compiler just about had a heart attack after trying to compile it :$

#include <stdio.h>

main()

{
	char license_plate[6]; = "0123456789abcdef"
	int i;

for ( i = 0 ; i < 10 ; i++ ) {
}

while (?)

{

}
}