I'm a newbie to PHP and arrays are giving me a problem.

I'm converting BLOBs of data from a MySQL database. Each of these BLOBs is the body portion of HTML files I'm converting to XHTML. Mainly, I'm checking <p> tags for case and closing tag. There are over 500 of these BLOBS. Hence, I want the automate the checking and editing of tags as much as possible.

Here is the code I have written so far, abbreviated to the section I am having problems with and what I want to achieve. Explanation appears below.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<?php
   ... Code ...
$i=0;
while ($i < 1) {
$body=mysql_result($result,$i,"body");
$body=stripslashes($body);
$i++;
}
//number of occurrences of <P> in $body as a variable; While {} will repeat
//this many times
$i=substr_count($body,"<P>",0);
//initialise counter variable for While {}
$x=0;
while ($x < $i){
    echo "<P> occurs ".substr_count($body,"<P>",0)." times.<br />";
    //determine position of string <P> in $body
    $strt=strpos($body,"<P>");
    echo "found at ".$strt."<br />";
    //if first time through this While {}, initialise the variable
    //ELSE build on it, separating values with ,
    if ($x<1) {
      $a="array(".$strt.", ";
	} else {
      $a=$a.$strt.", ";
    }
    //redefine body by replacing <P> with <p> at off-set in $strt
    $body=substr_replace($body,"<p>",$strt,3);
$x++;
}
//trim the variable a by 2 (eliminate the last , ) and close off the string
$a = substr($a,0,strlen($a)-2).")";
echo $a."<br />";  //Note this outputs array(0, 204, 460, 586, 709, 826) in browser as desired and expected
$b = array(0, 204, 460, 586, 709, 826);
//for testing what could be the problem, I copied the array as echo'd to the browser and assigned it here to $b
foreach($a as $s) {

echo "Value: " . $s . "<br />";
}
//this generates the PHP error
foreach($b as $s) {

}
//this outputs the array as it should
?>
</body>
</html>