Hi,

I was wondering if there was another way to redirect a user to an other page other that the header("Location: URL") function.

My problem is that I am itterating through a buch of if statements and if i use the header function it gives me an error as the header has already passed.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hi,

I was wondering if there was another way to redirect a user to an other page other that the header("Location: URL") function.

My problem is that I am itterating through a buch of if statements and if i use the header function it gives me an error as the header has already passed.

Thanks

Did you use this?

<?ob_start()?> //  use this at the beginning of the php code page

:
:
:
: 
<?ob_flush()?>// use this at the end of page

I hope this should solve your problem.:)

commented: This was just what i was looking for +1

Please forginve me if this sounds daft but i am new to PHP and programming in general.

Would that then allow me to use the header("Location: URL") function each time i get to the part where i need to redirect the user?

please see my code below

<?php
session_start();
include("no_session.php"); // this checks for session authorization variable

if($_POST['new_password_1'] == $_POST['new_password_2']) {

if($_POST['old_password'] == $_SESSION['PASSWORD']) {

mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password")
			or die("couldn't connect to server");

mysql_select_db("mydatabase")
			or die("couldn't select database");

$result = mysql_query("select password from member where login_name = '$_SESSION[USER]' and password = 						'$_SESSION[PASSWORD]';")
				or die("couldn't execute query");

$row = mysql_num_rows($result);

if($row > 0) {

mysql_query("update member set password = '$_POST[new_password_1]' where login_name = '$SESSION[USER]'")
				or die("couln't change password");	

$_SESSION['PASSWORD'] = $_POST['new_password_1'];			
			$_SESSION['STATUS'] = "Password Changed!";

// Redirect user to change password form