I am interning at a company and they have had me build a simple website which basically displays a list of their servers and they update entries, create new entries and so on. I am new to php and mysql and just web design in general. My question is do I really need to prevent against an SQL injection attack. The login to the site does not use SQL and i am using mysqli_query which will only allow one statement to be executed. And trying to do something where you make the where clause always true doesnt really do anything because once your on the site you can we the entire database anyway. As I said I am new to all this so do I need to prevent an SQL injection attack in my case?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

i dont know what msqli_query is but mysql_query i usually use mysql_real_escape_string($var) if its posted from a form using get or post. and the preg_replace() function

mysqli is just another way of using mysql with php, its supposed to be better than just using the mysql commands but i dont really know the difference. Should have specified a little more, i know of the mysql_real_escape_string function but what i am asking is can anyone really do damage to my site from an attempted sql injection attack if mysqli_query will only execute one statement, a user cant enter drop table and try to cause a table to be deleted. As i said im new to this and wanted to know if i really need to protect against an sql injection attack on my site?

oh i dont know about the mysqli. i dont know if people can inject with that this webpage says: "The data for the query does not need to be passed through a function like mysql_real_escape_string() to ensure that no SQL injection attacks[4] occur. Instead, the MySQL client and server work together to ensure that the sent data is handled safely when it is combined with the prepared statement.
" does that mean its unnecesary to use mysql and to just use mysqli?