I'm looking into developing a forum for medical purposes, however, although I have developed several websites in the past (mainly via Photoshop and Dreamweaver), I have never worked with forum software before. I am battling with whether or not to go with Invision Power's new Version 3 or VBulletin.

I notice this website uses VBulletin, but how can I tweak out VBulletin or IP3 to be more on the level of this. Basically, this is not a small project and is only stemming from what will eventually be a major project... For now, I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction.

BTW, I would also like for my members to have the ability to post blogs and various media (i.e. video and, at least, photos).

I know my request may be somewhat vague (for now), however, if you need more information so that you can better aid me, please feel free to ask.

Any information you supply me will UNDOUBTEDLY be put to good use. Thank you in advance for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm looking into developing a forum for medical purposes, however, although I have developed several websites in the past (mainly via Photoshop and Dreamweaver), I have never worked with forum software before. I am battling with whether or not to go with Invision Power's new Version 3 or VBulletin.

I notice this website uses VBulletin, but how can I tweak out VBulletin or IP3 to be more on the level of this. Basically, this is not a small project and is only stemming from what will eventually be a major project... For now, I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction.

BTW, I would also like for my members to have the ability to post blogs and various media (i.e. video and, at least, photos).

I know my request may be somewhat vague (for now), however, if you need more information so that you can better aid me, please feel free to ask.

Any information you supply me will UNDOUBTEDLY be put to good use. Thank you in advance for your help.

Have you also looked at PHPBB?