Hi,

Could anyone point me to some good tutorials on using PHP with Dreamweaver?

Also any other helpful forums?

Many thanks

Andy

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Not sure about incorporating Dreamweaver, but when I started learning PHP I found www.tizag.com invaluable.

Also www.w3schools.com is a great source for any web dev

thanks so much for the responses.

Would you reccomend using Dreamweaver to build PHP pages?

Have used book by Luke Welling and it is brilliant but now want to look at building data driven sites and heard its best to use Dreamweaver to build these?

any advice or any other books that are good to take you along building real world sites?

many thanks

Personally I use good old notepad, so can't really comment of Dreamweaver. I used it years ago but found it stuck in loads of additional code that I just didn't want.

A little mistake I made when learning PHP, don't leave it too long before you read up on AJAX. I was trying to do stuff with PHP which was really long and convuluted. Then I learned how AJAX works and it made the world of difference.

thanks hangfire

is it worth pulling down samples and playing about with them?

cheers

I started out using Dreamweaver for HTML/CSS. I noticed some bits I didn't understand so I clicked and tried - next thing you know I've got a database driven website. It was a great way to start, just waking me up to the possibilities of PHP/database stuff but it didn't take long before I realised that the 'Dreamweaver Way' led to large amounts of unnecessary and inflexible code.

So I started looking at, as mentioned above, tizag and W3schools - fantastic - didn't take long before I was writing my own code and not using Dreamweaver generated code at all.

I still use Dreamweaver but really only as a kind of notepad on steroids and I find the site/file management stuff handy. I would not buy it again if I was starting from scratch.