will someone please help me with this. It seems simple enough but I'm very new to asp and vb. I have a datagrid and I want to know how to access the values in a specific column. The dg is bound to a sql query. The column returns integer values in sql. I want to be able to sum the column and have a button_click command send the datagrid values to 0. I only want to change the datagrid values NOT the sql values (I currently have an Update/Set sql command in vb for this but as I said I only want the Datagrid values to change). Simply put where, if anywhere are the datagrid values stored? I have the column set as a template column and the items are displayed in the datagrid as textboxes (to allow the cells in this column to be changed). can someone please help or at least tell me if this question makes any sense. thank you

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You can access a perticular colum in dataset by
ds.Tables[0].Rows[0]["Columnname"].ToString()

You can access a particular column of gridview in its Rowdatabound event

Hope one of it may help u

will someone please help me with this. It seems simple enough but I'm very new to asp and vb. I have a datagrid and I want to know how to access the values in a specific column. The dg is bound to a sql query. The column returns integer values in sql. I want to be able to sum the column and have a button_click command send the datagrid values to 0. I only want to change the datagrid values NOT the sql values (I currently have an Update/Set sql command in vb for this but as I said I only want the Datagrid values to change). Simply put where, if anywhere are the datagrid values stored? I have the column set as a template column and the items are displayed in the datagrid as textboxes (to allow the cells in this column to be changed). can someone please help or at least tell me if this question makes any sense. thank you