Hey guys,
I'm a php newbie that's trying to learn php on the job, and my deadline is quickly approaching. I'm attempting to learn php through a book, which is working just fine. The only problem is it's somewhat of a slow process.

Anyway, I'm trying to search using a physicians name from a database of names and return only the values that are relevant to that search. Results displayed will be all fields for that record.

The table is organized as follows:
Physician - Specialty - Street - City - State - Zip - Phone

I've managed to have it display the entire database (which is 883 doctors long), but I'm having difficulty making it display only relevant information. I'm not getting any errors, but I can't seem to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm only trying to display physicians and city to see if I can make it work. Once I get the right code in I was going to expand it to include all 7 fields.

Also, if somebody wants to say I'm posting too much code, then I'll shrink it down to more relevant information. I don't want to annoy anybody here lol. Also, I've double checked my database connections, they are all working properly.

If anybody can assist me or point me into the right direction on how I can narrow my search results to display only relevant information I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

<?php 
session_start(); 
// Check for login
// Call DB Connection
include('includes/db_conn.php');
// Search Form Processor
$Physician 	= $_POST['physician'];
$sql = "";
// SQL SELECT 
if(isset($_POST['searchPhysician'])){
	$sql = "SELECT * FROM doctors WHERE Physician LIKE '{$physician}%'";
}//end if
if(isset($_GET['query']) <> ""){
	$query = $_GET['query'];
	$sql = "SELECT Physician, Specialty, Street, City, State, Zip, Phone FROM doctors WHERE Physician = '{$query}'";
	$result = mysql_query($sql);
}//end if
?>
<body>
<h1 class="redLL">Major Topic Search</h1><br>
	<!-- TITLE SEARCH -->