I have been programming in PHP with globals enabled since around 2005. I have started to develop on a more professional scale now, and with security at stake, I need to make the change.

Trouble is, I haven't been able to find a tutorial that answers my questions regarding globals (or lack there of) and don't want to have to resort to modifying the php.ini files.

Consider the following:

<form method="post" action="testing.php">

This is the format I used to program in. The tutorials I have all read advised the new 'action' format is now "$_self" or something, and are not be linked to an external php file.

Does this mean that all scripts w/out globals enabled must be sent to the same page?

If this is not actually the case, and it is just a big coincidence, consider the following:

include 'phpconfig.php';

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", $theusername, $thepassword);
  mysql_select_db($prefix . "_remixconfig",$db);
  $sql="SELECT * FROM images";
  $result=mysql_query($sql,$db);

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
  {
    $id = $row["id"];
    $path = $row["path"];

echo"The file path is: $path. Click <a href=\"delete.php?id=$id\">here</a> to delete.";
  }

This is the format showing how I'd usually handle mysql calls.
This code in particular is supposed to call the $row["id"] and $row["path"] feilds, and create a link to delete.php and carry the 'id' variable over.

I used to just be able to call '$id' on delete.php, how easy was that!? This no longer works.

Tutorials I have read, mainly using form posts as their examples, advise of using the function $_POST or $_GET (depending on what method one used) or $_REQUEST as a wild card in terms of type of data send method.

But what I can't seem to figure out is what one would use when following a link? My scripts keep bugging out.

Finaly, if I have the globals enabled in various folders on my webserver, will this new 'anti-global-variable' method of programming still work?

Thanks for your help!