I need some help. I have a website where people can create a class or event with times and places for the class or event. Once this instance is created they are supplied a link for people to sign up and a passcode for them to use to modify the class or take attendence for the class, or change attendees for the class. I have never done a login page before. I have read a lot about them but I cannot find anything that just uses a passcode to login. The passcode is stored in one of my SQL tables. I have about three or four pages that require the passcode before the user can go to those pages. I do not know how start doing any of this. I need help please.

Thank you,
Jesi

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Well, Do you know how to retrieve data from the SQL database?

Do you know what if statements are?

If you can answer both you can do it.

Please explain which part you don't understand, so I may try and clarify.

Regards.

Yes, I know how to retrieve data from the SQL database. I am somewhat familar with if statements, but not very good at them. So there are several things I do not understand. I do not understand how to setup the web config file to only allow login for a few pages of the web site. I also not know how I would verify that they put in the correct passcode from the database. I have only used the database to display and change things in the database from my site, but not to validate something that is in the database. I have no clue how that would be done. Oh, and I am using C# in the code behind if that makes a difference. Thank you.

It is simple there is no need to stress over it.

Here try this.

if (Password.Text.Equals(RetrievedInformation)) //where Password.Test is your Password TextBox
    MessageBox.Show("Successful login");
else 
    MessageBox.Show("Wrong Password");

Where I said Successful Login you replace it with loading the new form or what ever you want to do when the authorization is successful.