MisterSnrub 0 Newbie Poster

Hello! I am using Visual Studio 2010, I am a total newbie to ASP.Net and I am having trouble successfully adding the FreeTextBox component to my project. I am only trying to add it to a simple Hello World-esque project called WebApplication1, and I can't even get that to work. I have successfully added the bin/freetextbox.dll file to my solution, and I successfully added the FreeTextBox component to the Toolbox, but when I drag it in Design view and try to run it, I get build errors. Please help!

1. I go to http://freetextbox.com/download/ and download the latest stable version of the software, which is "Download Control (3.2.4) (zip)."

2. I extract the .zip file to c:\download\FTBv3-2-4.

3. I launch Visual Studio 2010 and create a new project by going to File -> New Project.

4. In the Visual Basic tab, I click "ASP.NET Web Application." I accept the default name WebApplication1 and Solution name WebApplication1 and the location is C:\VISUALSTUDIO.

5. I click OK and this creates my project.

6. I click the green arrow button to compile and run my program. This creates a nice simple "Welcome to ASP.NET!" webpage on localhost, and so far everything is OK.

7. Now it's time to add the FreeTextBox. I go to the directory where I extracte the .zip file (c:\download\FTBv3-2-4). I am using .NET 4.0, so I double-click on the Framework-3.5 folder and copy FreeTextBox.dll. I paste this file inside my project's bin folder (C:\VISUALSTUDIO\WebApplication1\WebApplication1\bin).

8. In Visual Studio I go to the Solution Explorer and right-click WebApplication1 and click on "Add Reference..." The Add Reference screen pops up.

9. I click on the Browse tab, navigate to C:\VISUALSTUDIO\WebApplication1\WebApplication1\bin, select FreeTextBox.dll, and click OK.

10. In Solution Explorer, I double-click on web.config.

11. In web.config, I add the following block of code right after the <system.web> line: