Hi new to php and I'm trying to learn how to set up connections to the database on my remote server. I'm using dreamweaver to create recordsets, then dispaying the results. Dreamweaver creates a connection file(I named student.php) automatically based on your database connections and login info. However, this poses a problem when I upload my files to a remote server. Of course the connection file has the local db login info, NOT the remote db server info.

I created a copy of the student.php and changed the db information and saved this file to my remote server, but it seems to not work for me quite right. This was how our instructor suggested and demoed succesfully to us.

My question is how is this normally handled by experienced php coders? I would love to find a better way thabn having to manage two files of the same name while keeping them separate on local and remote servers respectively. Thanks for any help and please remember, I'm very new to php...lol so no suggestions TOOOO hard...lol Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

In most everyday developing situations the database server name is 'localhost'. If you then make sure your local and remote DB both use the same username, password and database name, then there is no need to change your connection file.

Hey pritaeas, so databases on remote servers should normally be named localhost as well? The remote db we're using is named something like "MySQLC6.webcontrolcenter.com" Wow that seems strange..lol I didnt know that. So I guess as it is, I do need to create two separate connection files, one for localhost and one for the above mentioned db server, and figure out why thats not working.

Also I had forgot I posted something similar to this the other day. lol Sorry about that. Thanks for your help!