.guys i'm starting a new project. an online examination using PHP and an online database phpMyAdmin.
.the exam is consisted of questions which can be answered by choosing one of the four answers. what i want to do is either use dropdown menu or multiple radioboxes when picking answers.
of course there should a submit button which when clicked submits the selected answer and checks the database whether it is correct or wrong. after answering all of the questions a result page should be displayed.

.if anybody could guide me on doing this project then it would be much appreciated. thank you in advance!

.please help me as i am only a beginner on using PHP and mySql programming languages.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This project is not difficult to do. Here are a few tips to get you started.

1. Start out by creating a table with the unique_id, the question, the four options, the question type (Drop Down or MCQ) and the correct answer.

2. Decide on whether the questions will be entered into the database directly or by the user using a form. If it is to be through a form then you have to create a form for putting in these questions.

3. Create the Q&A page. This can be done by looping through your db of questions and echoing the required ones along with the choices on the page, in a form

4. Create the processing script to accept the answers from point 3 and compare them to those in the DB to check the answers and calculate the score.

Start out with the code. If you get stuck, post the problem you are stuck with here. There are several of us who will hep you out and get you on your way.

All the very best.

This project is not difficult to do. Here are a few tips to get you started.

1. Start out by creating a table with the unique_id, the question, the four options, the question type (Drop Down or MCQ) and the correct answer.