Hi,

I'm kind of new to AJAX, but heard this might be the way to go for what I wanna do.

I wan't to create a link, and when a user presses the link it's creating another text box underneath with some text in.

so ofcourse there'll be multiple link and everytime they press on a ling a text should appear in that box according to what link they press.

is there any good tutorial on that?
or does anyone know how to do it?

I hope you understand what I meen?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

If I understand correctly you are basically wanting the link to "show" a text box with some text in it.

You could set up your page with the links and text boxes in place and put your text boxes to display none:

<input type="text" id="myTextBox" value="my textbox text" style="display: none;">

Then, use javascript to "show" the "hidden" text box when user clicks the link:

<a href="#showLink" onclick="document.getElementById('myTextBox').style.display = block;return false;>My Link</a>

Together:

<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('foo').style.display = 'block';return false;">foo bar</a>
<input type="text" id="foo" style="display: none;" value="bar">

Hi Thx,

I'm trying your example, but it's not showing a link to start with.
it's just showing a blank page, do you know if I should do anything else?

This is my code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

</head>

<body>

<script type="text/javascript">
<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('foo').style.display = 'block';return false;">foo bar</a>
<input type="text" id="foo" style="display: none;" value="bar">

</script>

</body>
</html>

remove line 13 and 17.

No need for the code I suggested to be placed inside of the script tags.

thank's that works,