I am trying to clear session variables after I have logged out. In my search.aspx I have a logout button therefore I put the below code in search.aspx.vb. However it does does seem to work.

Protected Sub hlLogout_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles hlLogout
       {

if(Session["User Name"]!=null) Session.Remove("User Name");
          if(Session["Password"]!=null) Session.Remove("Password");          

Response.Redirect("Default.aspx");
       }

As I am new to sessions etc. I am not even show if I have put it in the right place, or if I need more code elsewhere in my application. Could anyone help me with this issue?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You can just abandon the section using: session.abandon

Where should I place this code?

In your code replace

with

Session.Abandon();

I receive this error below:

Compilation Error
Description: An error occurred during the compilation of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific error details and modify your source code appropriately.

Compiler Error Message: BC30287: '.' expected.

Source Error:

Line 23: End Sub
Line 24:
Line 25: Protected Sub hlLogout_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles hlLogout
Line 26: {
Line 27:

Source File: E:\VB Help Guide work\Users\Search.aspx.vb Line: 25

I am assuming I have placed it in the wrong place, or I have written the code wrong

You are using VB.Net or C#?

@ first glance, I didn't noticed it.
The code

Protected Sub hlLogout_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles hlLogout

is VB.Net and the code

{

Response.Redirect("Default.aspx");
}

is C#.

Basically What I want to do is. If someone copies the url into a new tab a want it to log the person out. I heard that is called session destroy!