:eek: Hello,
I'm trying to figure out how to create a database driven login page in ASP.NET 2.0. As you can see I'm new at dotNET so I need all the help I can get. I can't seem to figure out how to use my own database to pull the user's information to allow them to authenticate. I have created user accounts and roles in the Admin tool in Web Developer but I can't seem to find a way to link the login control to my own database.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi,

Authenticating Users with a Database Table

To support a custom user registration system, we need to store usernames and passwords in a database table, so that we can make this as a scalable solution.

Step1 :Create a table in the database named as UserTable.

The structure of the table is given below.

CREATE TABLE UserTable
(
u_id INT NULL IDENTITY,
u_username VARCHAR(20),
u_password VARCHAR(20)
)

Step 2:

The Login.aspx page validates usernames and passwords by checking them against the contents of the UserTable.

Step3: Create a Register.aspx form to register new users. This form also contains fields of username and password.

The Title "Develop your own Web Accounting Application using ASP.Net" explains the topic on Security very well.
visit : http://www.vkinfotek.com

Regards
bhar

Thank you for your quick reply. Actually I already have a table with two of the fields that I will use as the authentication required fields (name or code # (which they already know)). The problem that I am having is how do I tell the login.aspx page to use that database to authenticate? I am using VWD 2005 Express Edition.

Thank you again.

Marequi

Hi,

Authenticating Users with a Database Table

To support a custom user registration system, we need to store usernames and passwords in a database table, so that we can make this as a scalable solution.

Step1 :Create a table in the database named as UserTable.

The structure of the table is given below.

CREATE TABLE UserTable
(