var_dump($applicant_id_number);
            echo '</pre>';

echo '<pre>';
            var_dump($job_title);
            echo '</pre>';

}    
    }
}

This function will display the candidates id_number that matches the age requirement of a job advert and the job title it matches. How would I give these candidates a rank, ie. if candidate age matches job_advert age candidate +1, then pull out the best ranking candidates. what would be the best way to do so?
I ave tried inpuing a variable that increment for each matching candidate, bt this failed as it incremented for each record, eg. I have 10 records, then it would display the number of each maching record.
ps. I am still a student and this is for educational purposes(just incase someone thinks "my organization" is discriminatory about age)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

In your foreach loop I would put applicants' data in an array and add a rank which is just a difference between an applicant's age and advertised required age (assuming that x years older and x years younger candidates rank equally). Then the array should be sorted.

// this will hold data about the applicants
// ID => rank
$aplicants = array();

foreach ($job_advert as $advert) {
    $job_title = $advert->job_title;
    $age = $advert->age;

$rank = $applicant_age - $age;

$aplicants[$applicant_id_number] = $rank;
}    

// sort by values and maintain index information (applicant's ID)
asort($aplicants);

// now you can process the applicants array where the first key(s) have the best ranks

This wont work for what I need.. age is only one of many requirements, sorry, I should have been more specific on that.. The advert requirements also have industry_type, qualification and qualification level, and job_experience(in the spesific field).