Any ideas on some good beginner projects for PHP? I'd like to at, some point in the future, get into front end development and although I have a little self taught programming knowledge I don't have any real work experience in I.T. or programming at all, just the programs you write following python & c++ books of the shelf.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hey,

I learnt by starting to write what I was interested in.. So for example, the first application I built in PHP was a register and login system, from there I gained experience. There's no real "Best project to start learning" I would pick something that is:

1) Easy/less complex to do

2) Something that you're interesting in : Otherwise you will just get bored and fustrated. THINK of something you've seen online, or in the real world and try to put this into an application. (For example, with me it was "How does Amazon know what I was looking at the last time I visited?)

By having C++ / Python experience, this should help with the syntax.

Hope this helps you.

Just like stated above, things that you're interested in.
I personally think Register/Login systems, mini blog/posting systems are good practice as a lot of the big things in the language are practiced in that way.

Many projects are there to start.. but for the beginner.. he or she must develop a project in which insertion, editing (changing, deleting) and fetching processings come across. So it should be very simple

How's your client-side web dev skills?

I only ask because when I got interested in server side scripting (in my case ASP.NET) and started learning it before picking up the client side HTML, CSS and Javascript. So I ended up getting exposed to the server side before the client side. I would suggest doing the reverse. Get your HTML and CSS strong before the PHP, in my opinion.

I think that this approach will help you write much better server side scripts.