Hello all, I am very very new to ASP.NET - just started looking into it a few days ago - and I got a book out to get the basics of APS.NET, Visual studio (which I haven't installed as yet) and C# (the book is ASP.NET 3.5 a beginners guide by William B Sanders). As I flicked through the first examples of code, I have noticed something and I am not sure whether it's me being silly, a mistake, or how things are. Let's have a look at a few of these examples.
1)this aspx file is part of a larger example to demonstrate variable types (which in this case, it is not my concern by the way):

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="ConVar.aspx.cs"
Inherits="ConVar" %>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head runat="server">
        <title>Constants and Variables</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <form id="form1" runat="server">
            <div>
                <asp:Label ID="YourAge" runat="server" Text="19" />
            </div>
        </form>
    </body>
</html>

So, the asp tag seems to auto close but I swear I'd seen somewhere else that it has to be matched by an equivalent closing tag like </asp:Label>. Can anybody shed some light on this for me please?

2)Second one is far more interesting. Again it is part of a larger example to demonstrate basic comparison:

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="SimpleIf.aspx.cs"
Inherits="SimpleIf" %>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head runat="server">
        <title>Simple Conditional</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <form id="form1" runat="server">
            <div>
                <asp:TextBox ID="TextBox1" runat="server"/>
                Number 1
            <p/>