I am new to php and am building a search function for my website. The problem is I cannot seem to make the Aa> tags work to make the link I keep on getting parse error. could someone tell me how to make $title a link. I can pretty much do everything else from there. Thanks in advance.:!:

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
	{
		echo "<center><table>";
		$count = 1 + $s;
			$title = $row["location"];
			echo "<tr>
						<td>";
							echo $title;
							echo "</td><td>";
							echo "</td></tr>";
			$count++;

echo "</table></center>";
	}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Something like:

echo("<a href=\"mylink.htm\">$title</a>");

(I haven't tested that so I can't guarantee it being typo-free. PHP is unforgiving ;))

Something like:

echo("<a href=\"mylink.htm\">$title</a>");

(I haven't tested that so I can't guarantee it being typo-free. PHP is unforgiving ;))

Thanks man. The link by the way is created dunamically do I have to use anytthing different to have a variable plug in the value rather than actually using the address.

Well, I assume that each incarnation of 'title' will have a different target url, so what do you think you will have to do for that...?

If we assume that 'title' is also the actual url as well as the link text, then:

echo("<a href=\"$title\">$title</a>");

If the url and the link text are different then you'll need to provide another variable or string of text for each iteration.